Related Posts

Share This


The ten Yamaha legends, whose plaques were contributed to the Wall surface of Popularity, consist of:

Bob Hannah, among one of the most successful motocross racers in American background. During his 15-year occupation, Bob won a total amount of 7 AMA National Championships, and he became the all-time victories leader in AMA motocross/Supercross background, with 70 AMA National success throughout his job. His overall victories record stood up until 1999. Bob was sworn in into the AMA Motorbike Hall of Popularity in 1999, as well as in 2000, he was inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Popularity of The U.S.A..

Rick Burgett, one of Yamaha’s initial “Quick 4” of factory Yamaha motorcyclists, which likewise consisted of Bob Hannah, Broc Glover, and Mike Bell. In 1978, riding a Yamaha YZ400E, Rick won the AMA 500cc National Motocross Champion, which was the premier class in AMA motocross auto racing throughout that era. His Championship was an important part of an all-Yamaha move that year, in 125cc, 250cc, and 500cc Motocross, as well as in Supercross.

Broc Glover, who won six AMA National Motocross Championships for Yamaha, which was a document that stood for almost two decades. He tallied 45 job AMA National wins in both motocross and also Supercross. In 1977, Broc’s first full year of riding as a professional, he won the AMA 125cc National Motocross Championship, and he defended his title the adhering to 2 years, in 1978 as well as 1979. Broc moved up to the 500cc course in 1981 and also won the AMA Championship game in his first year in that class. He included two added AMA 500cc National Championships to his tally in 1983 and also 1985. When he retired after the 1988 season, Broc held the AMA all-time wins record in both AMA 125cc motocross and also 500cc motocross. He was inducted into the AMA Bike Hall of Popularity in 2000.

Mike Bell, who rode for Yamaha throughout the totality of his specialist auto racing occupation, and he was just one of The U.S.A.’s leading motocross and also Supercross racers of the late 1970s and also early ’80s. In 1979, Mike notched 4 wins in the AMA 500cc National Motocross Championship and also completed the season just 3 points timid of winning the title. The following year, “Too High” won the 1980 AMA Supercross Championship and also, while doing so, acquired 7 success in a solitary season, which was a document that would not be broken for the following 11 years. In seven professional auto racing seasons, he assembled an overall of 20 AMA National wins. He was sworn in into the AMA Motorbike Hall of Popularity in 2001.

Rich Oliver, who is a five-time AMA Pro 250 Grand Prix National Champion and the only biker in AMA road auto racing background to publish a perfect, unbeaten season, which he did 3 times. In 1996 as well as 1997, Rich won 20 successive races. When he retired in 2003, he had actually won 71 AMA nationals, which, at the time, was more than any other roadway racer in AMA background. Rich contended in practically every AMA road racing class prior to retiring, including Superbike. He additionally was a WERA 250 National Champion, and he famously won the Formula USA Champion on a Team Roberts Yamaha YZR500 Grand Prix machine.

Eddie Lawson, that is a four-time 500cc Grand Prix Globe Champ. In 1983, Eddie ended up being Kenny Roberts’ teammate on Yamaha’s General Practitioner team as well as, in 1984, he won his very first 500cc title. Steady Eddie took place to win two more 500cc GP globe titles for Yamaha in 1986 and also 1988. In 1990, he joined Japanese rider Tadahiko Taira as well as won the Suzuka 8 Hrs endurance race on a Yamaha FZR750RR OW01. Eddie likewise won the Daytona 200 in 1986 and also came out of retirement to win it once again in 1993. He was sworn in right into the AMA Bike Hall of Popularity in 1999.

Wayne Rainey, who won three consecutive 500cc Grand Prix World Championships for Yamaha as well as was a two-time AMA Superbike Champ. In 1988, Wayne as well as his Group Roberts Yamaha colleague Kevin Magee won the Suzuka 8 Hrs endurance race. He was inducted into the AMA Motorbike Hall of Fame in 1999, was named a Grand Prix “Tale” by the FIM in 2000, and was inducted into the International Motorsports Hall of Fame in 2007. Today, Wayne works as president of the KRAVE Team, which handles the MotoAmerica FIM/AMA North American Bike Road Competing Champion.

Ty Davis, that was among one of the most functional bike racers of the 1980s, 90s, and also very early 2000s. Growing up in the high desert of Southern California as the child of racer and also sector pioneer Terry Davis, Ty was predestined to ride. He grew up riding on the paths of Hesperia before moving his emphasis to the motocross track. Ty’s motocross profession finished with him winning the 1990 AMA Supercross 125cc West Region Champion. Right after, he made the switch to off-road racing where he has actually collected an impressive checklist of success, consisting of three National Hare & Canine Championships in 1997, 1998, as well as 2002; two National Enduro Championships in 1995 and 1999; and a WORCS championship in 2003. Ty’s success hasn’t already been restricted to the racecourse. In 2001, he started Zip-Ty Competing Products, marketing high-performance, specialized components for off-road race bikes. Ty was sworn in right into the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in 2012.

Jason Raines, who compiled an outstanding checklist of off-road motorbike competing success as well as Championships during his professional career, consisting of 6 National Hare Scrambles titles, 2 GNCC Series runner-up coatings, and also 3 ISDE Gold Medals. A woodsman from the Pacific Northwest, Jason grew up desiring for becoming an expert off-road racer. At age 20, he transferred to Pennsylvania to take his shot. Within two years, he came to be a podium challenger in the GNCC collection, and that’s when Randy Hawkins came calling with a Yamaha factory trip. Jason rose to the difficulty and also became a dominant motorcyclist in several self-controls of off-road bike racing. Actually, he is just one of only a handful of motorcyclists that have actually won a hare shuffle, a GNCC race, and also a national Enduro on 3 consecutive weekend breaks. Today, Jason runs the widely known Raines College, which is an extreme training course that covers every little thing from heating up and also working out your body to racing suggestions for the route. He additionally runs Yamaha’s off-road demonstration program and also assists take care of Yamaha’s GNCC team in the 250 class.

Bill Ballance, who is commonly known as the best cross-country ATV racer of all time, and also completely factor. In 2000, he began a regime of nearly a years atop the Pro ATV class where he racked up an overall of nine successive GNCC ATV National Championships during an era that included the transition from two-stroke ATVs to four-stroke makers. And also, all the while, Bill just kept winning, at some point creating his own Yamaha off-road team called Ballance Racing. By the time he retired in 2010, he had actually won a lot more GNCC ATV races than any individual in history. Additionally an entrepreneur, Expense created his very own Ballance Version ATV racing products varying from exhausts to tires and, in his honor, Yamaha also created a special Ballance Edition Yamaha YFZ450R.

The 4 iconic Yamaha racing devices on display during Yamaha’s 60th Wedding anniversary staff member celebration consisted of:

1979 Yamaha YZ250 OW40 as ridden by Bob Hannah in the AMA Motocross 250cc Champion (6 general success).

1980 Yamaha YZ465 OW41 as ridden by Rick Burgett in the AMA Motocross 500cc Championship.

1986 Yamaha YZR500 OW81 as ridden by Eddie Lawson in the FIM World Grand Prix 500cc Championship (7 race wins).

1990 Yamaha YZR500 OWC1 as ridden by Wayne Rainey in the FIM Globe Grand Prix 500cc Champion (7 race victories).