Related Posts

Share This


MORGANTOWN, W.V. – As the opening round of the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship approaches, its opportunity to glance back at the record book of the world’s most aggressive motocross arrangement. The AMA Motocross Championship was set up in 1972, and from that point forward a significant number of the best motocross racers in the historical backdrop of the game have developed as race victors and champions.

Driving the two records is Ricky Carmichael, the 10-time champion and 102-race victor. Carmichael, who resigned in 2007 to seek after a car hustling profession, caught a bewildering 76 open air national wins in the 450 Class, and he won each round of the arrangement on three unique events: 2002, 2004 and 2005.

That sort of strength is a long ways from what the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship saw in 2009, as five spic and span names were added to the arrangement record books in the wake of gracing the highest point of the platform without precedent for their expert motocross professions.

In the chief 450 Class, seven distinct champs took the checkered banner the previous summer, every one of them victors without precedent for the arrangement’s head division. Chad Reed drove the route with five general wins on his way to the title and Ryan Villopoto, Mike Alessi, Ivan Tedesco and Josh Grant all additional wins in the 450 Class to their profession resumes, which as of now incorporate 250 Class wins. Furthermore, Matt Goerke and Tommy Hahn caught well known underdog triumphs the principal wins of their professions in any class or arrangement.

In the 250 Class, three new faces caught their inaugural wins at an open air national. The profoundly skilled division gave the absolute most focused hustling in arrangement history, as the fervently title went down to the last moto. Rockstar/Makita Suzuki rider Ryan Dungey developed as champion after an unpleasant duel with previous world champ Christophe Pourcel. Dungey’s four wins coordinated the count for Pourcel, yet he in any case out-pointed the Frenchman for the title. Pourcel’s Kawasaki colleague Jake Weimer caught three general triumphs, and newbie phenom Justin Barcia earned the principal win of his profession.

With another period of the most skilled field in history in store for 2010, both the 450 and 250 classes should welcome extra new faces on the platform and proceed with the consistently developing heritage of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship.