Related Posts

Share This


Villopoto Grabs Win Number Three in Indianapolis, Moves Into Tie Atop the Standings; Pourcel Opens Eastern Regional Championship with Convincing Win

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (February 20, 2010) – before a pressed horde of 60,019, the 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, a FIM World Championship, season influenced its East Coast to make a big appearance from Indianapolis’ Lucas Oil Stadium. The head AMA Supercross class entered the night with a tie on the standings between Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., and San Manuel Yamaha’s Josh Hill, of Carlsbad, Calif. At the point when the checkered banner flew today around evening time, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., remained on the platform for his third win of the season. Beast Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Christophe Pourcel, of Groveland, Fla., snatched the triumph in the opening round of the AMA Arenacross Lites Eastern Regional Championship.

Honda Red Bull Racing’s Davi Millsaps, of Murrieta, Calif., commenced the 20-lap AMA Supercross headliner by getting the Spike Holeshot Award with GEICO Powersports Honda’s Kevin Windham, of Centreville, Miss., and Villopoto following in second and third, separately. Millsaps and Windham would participate in a forward and backward fight for the lead over the primary couple laps before Windham influenced a go to stick on lap two. Villopoto would continue to work his way to the front alongside Dungey, as the two riders moved by Millsaps. As the race hit the midway stamp, Villopoto fought with Windham, making the triumphant pass on lap 11 while Dungey took second the following lap. The trio would complete in a specific order – Villopoto, Dungey and Windham.

“Leaving the last possibility I had the outside entryway,” said Villopoto, who neglected to complete his warmth race after a crash and needed to meet all requirements for the headliner through the last shot qualifier. “I was second to last to arrange (for the headliner) and I extremely can’t thank the folks at Monster Energy Kawasaki enough. It was the quickest bicycle out there and I could get a decent holeshot.

“Beginning outwardly there slaughtered me,” he proceeded. “I could make a big deal about it, which was magnificent.”

Villopoto’s second in a row win and third triumph in the last four races moves him into a tie at the highest point of the standings with Dungey.

GEICO Powersports Honda’s Justin Barcia, of Ochlocknee, Ga., dashed to the AMA Arenacross Lites Spike Holeshot Award with Pourcel and Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Austin Stroupe, of Lincolnton, N.C., close behind. Pourcel immediately moved into the lead and never thought back, driving each of the 15 laps of the headliner. Barcia kept the dominant class champion genuine, yet fell on lap three, dropping a few positions. Pourcel went too far 5.22 seconds in front of Stroupe in the sprinter up spot to open up an early guides lead while Barcia recuperated toward complete third for his first-vocation platform in his arrangement make a big appearance.

“I just felt quite great on my Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki,” said Pourcel. “Everything was alright today for me so I am simply extremely upbeat to win the race this evening. The track was quite tight today and I expected to win the race so coming into the headliner I just put forth a valiant effort (exertion).”

The Monster Energy Supercross arrangement heads to Atlanta, Ga. next Saturday, February 27, for its eighth race of the season at the Georgia Dome.

AMA Supercross Class Results: Indianapolis

Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki

Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki

Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda

Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha

Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda

Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Honda

Give Langston, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha

Scratch Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki

Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha

Jason Lawrence, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings

Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 145

Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 145

Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 135

Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 114

Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 106

Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 105

Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 97

Scratch Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 74

Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 69

Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki, 61

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Results: Indianapolis

Christophe Pourcel, Groveland, Fla., Kawasaki

Austin Stroupe, Lincolnton, N.C., Suzuki

Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda

Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha

Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda

Senior member Wilson, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki

Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Yamaha

Nico Izzi, Albany, Ga., Yamaha

Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha

Troy Adams, Homosassa, Fla., Suzuki

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

Christophe Pourcel, Groveland, Fla., Kawasaki, 25

Austin Stroupe, Lincolnton, N.C., Suzuki, 22

Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 20

Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha, 18

Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda, 16

Senior member Wilson, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki, 15

Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Yamaha, 14

Nico Izzi, Albany, Ga., Yamaha, 13

Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha, 12

Troy Adams, Homosassa, Fla., Suzuki, 11

A season-long membership to the authority webcast of Monster Energy Supercross, Supercross LIVE®, is accessible for $39.99: http://www.supercrossonline.com/supercrosslive. Supercross LIVE® is the main week by week live Monster Energy Supercross race call, and highlights long time voices of supercross, Jason Weigandt and Jim Holley.