Related Posts

Share This


Memorable Motorcycle Race Takes Place on Catalina Island for First Time Since 1958.

Kendall Norman Wins Pro Race.

Avalon, CA – History was made this end of the week as the Red Bull Catalina Grand Prix, one of California’s most famous cruisers races, made a triumphant return following a 52-year rest. The well known race, which was hung on the island in the vicinity of 1951 and 1958, was broadly viewed as a standout amongst the most special and lofty races of the time. The end of the week’s shady skies and cold temperatures didn’t stop the more than 800 riders from handling the recently stamped 6-mile course, which highlighted an assortment of landscape including a testing motocross segment and a fire street that took racers up winding turns and around soak feigns high over the port city of Avalon.

The resurrection of the race brought a portion of the riders who had contended in Catalina in the 1950s back to ride the island track yet again. This included Homer Knapp, who took to the course on Saturday on a similar 1920s Harley Davidson he rode in the Catalina race in the 1950s. Sway Sandgren, who won the race in 1957 and 1958, additionally came back to fill in as Grand Marshal. Other Catalina race veterans included Preston Petty and John Rice. The celebrations commenced with a parade lap of the racers through downtown Avalon, where hundreds lined the avenues to give a shout out to their top picks from both yesteryear and today.

Other essential racers included Hall of Famer Malcolm Smith, motocross and rough terrain champion Rick Johnson, Los Angeles Police Chief Charlie Beck and Olympic skier Daron Rahlves, who won his race. Numerous remarkable “youthful” racers appeared also, including Travis Pastrana, Kurt Caselli, Ronnie Renner, Jessy Nelson, Johnny Campbell and Quinn Cody. Pastrana’s Nitro Circus buddies Andy Bell, Gregg Godfrey and Kurt Nicoll additionally arranged. The occasion finished in the last Pro Race, where Kendall Norman, falling off his fifth Baja 1000 win and the 2010 AMA National Hare and Hound title, took ahead of everyone else, besting youthful EnduroCross expert Colton Haacker. Caselli had a mechanical issue and needed to drop out, as did Pastrana, who was running in the best three when his bicycle seized.

Norman joins Bud Ekins (who played out the acclaimed fence hop in “The Great Escape” for Steve McQueen) and Bob Sandgren (the race’s just two-time victor) as champion of the island exhibition.

“The race was marvelous today – it was quite warmed, and individuals were truly engaging it out,” said Norman. “The entire experience was astonishing: the island, the course, the vibe, everything. I’ve won a considerable measure of races this year, however this is certainly one of my top picks. I’m regarded that I was capable make a little history today.”

“I’m simply so eager to be back on a bicycle, and I couldn’t trust what number of legends returned for this occasion,” said Pastrana. “I truly delighted in the entire experience – I couldn’t trust the excitement of the fans here on Catalina. Individuals were cheering the distance around the track! This truly is a stunning spot.”

The merriments additionally incorporated an exceptional screening of the film Nitro Circus Greatest Hits, held at the renowned Catalina Casino’s theater. The screening raised $5,000 and all returns went to the Island Motorcycle Club (IMC), which sorted out the Catalina Grand Prix in the 1950s and is currently a philanthropy supporting youthful riders on the island.

Red Bull Catalina Grand Prix took after its 1950s open class custom by giving races to a wide assortment of motor relocations and aptitude levels. There were 12 races over the two days, with a normal of 50 riders for every race. The Red Bull Catalina Grand Prix was AMA-endorsed, and all AMA rules were taken after.


Heavyweight (Race 8)

1. Kurt Caselli

2. Kendall Norman

3. Jimmy O’Neal

Genius +18 (Race 12)

1. Kendall Norman

2. Sean Collier

3. Colton Haacker

Genius +30 (Race 12)

1. Ryan Dudek

2. David Pingree

3. Ronnie Renner

Genius +40 (Race 12)

1. Kurt Nicoll

2. Tod Sciaqua

3. Rick Johnson

Past champs of the Catalina Grand Prix: Walt Fulton (1951), Nick Nicholson (1952), John McLaughlin (1953), Jim Johnson (1954), Bud Ekins (1955), Chuck “Feets” Minert (1956) and Bob Sandgren (1957 and 1958).