Related Posts

Share This



by Andy McGechan

It has been long past due, yet Mount Maunganui’s Cody Cooper has at long last secured that most desired of New Zealand motocross titles, the senior MX1 crown.

It was difficult, however, and the dashing went last minute at the fourth and last round of this current season’s Demon Energy New Zealand Motocross Championships close New Plymouth on Sunday.

The Suzuki pro from the Bay of Plenty came up only two focuses short last season, yet this time Cooper was not to be denied, regardless of whether the field arranging against him this time was harder than some time recently, one of the most grounded at any point saw on the New Zealand local motocross scene.

Motueka’s Josh Coppins (Yamaha), back home in New Zealand in the wake of closing down a 15-year profession dashing the big showdowns in Europe, and kindred Kiwi internationals Michael Phillips (Honda), of Rotorua, and Mason Phillips (Kawasaki), of Mount Maunganui – also shielding national champion Justin McDonald (Honda), of Christchurch – all additional clout to this current season’s MX1 (open class) title.

In any case, Cooper wound up noticeably more grounded as the season advanced and in the long run won seven of the arrangement’s 12 MX1 races. On Sunday he completed the day unbeaten in three races to grab the title Coppins’ grip.


Mount Maunganui’s Cody Cooper (Suzuki), delegated New Zealand MX1 champion out of the blue on Sunday.

Photograph by Andy McGechan, BikesportNZ.com

Coppins had driven after rounds one, two and three yet, as has happened such huge numbers of times previously, Taranaki’s fourth and last round progressed toward becoming something of a burial ground for the title pioneer.

A lower leg damage supported while pursuing Cooper to the checkered banner in race one on Sunday ended up being not kidding enough for Coppins to pull back before the last race of the day, affirming Cooper as the new champ.

In the MX2 (250cc) class, it was a tall tale complete for Waikato’s Darryll King (Yamaha), the 42-year-old previous big showdown campaigner, likewise a multi-time previous New Zealand and Australian champion, who had as far as anyone knows resigned from all levels of rivalry around three years back.

“I didn’t figure I could do this,” said King. “I was on an old two-stroke bicycle against some quick children of four-strokes be that as it may, I assume, all my Grand Prix encounter meant something.”

McCoy had driven the title pursue by only one point as the riders arranged for the last MX2 race of the arrangement.

“I was rationally somewhat of a wreck in that last race, the weight was on and I expected to complete in front of Australian guest Daniel McCoy (Suzuki) to win the title. I have not been in an extremely intense title pursue in a couple of years.

“I was driving the race yet, on those last two laps, my brain was setting up a wide range of negative contemplations … I will commit an error, I’m, going to crash … also, it was difficult to close them out and simply think.”

At last, King completed 1-4-1 to beat the 26-year-old Sydney man by only four focuses – McCoy returning home 3-2-3 on Sunday – with another youthful Australian, Honda’s Cody Mackie, taking third spot by and large in the title.

Then, in the 125cc and under-21 years’ classes, hustled simultaneously yet scored independently, Waitakere’s Ethan Martens (Yamaha) was just excessively solid, completing 3-1-1 on Sunday to effortlessly wrap up the two titles.

Last driving standings in the 2011 Demon Energy New Zealand Motocross Championships:

MX1 class: 1. Cody Cooper (Mount Maunganui) 277 focuses; 2. Josh Coppins (Motueka) 245; 3. Michael Phillips (Rotorua) 234.

MX2 class: 1. Darryll King (Hamilton) 249 focuses; 2. Daniel McCoy (Australia) 245; 3. Cody Mackie (Australia) 214.

125cc class: 1. Ethan Martens (Waitakere) 281 focuses; 2. Scott Barr-Smith (Tauranga) 234; 3. Tom Managh (Wanganui) 201.

Under-21 class: 1. Martens 285 focuses; 2. Barr-Smith 241; 3. Managh 215.