Related Posts

Share This


By Andy McGechan

Three champs in the same number of occasions, this present season’s New Zealand supercross nationals couldn’t be significantly more tightly or difficult to foresee at the highest point of the senior open class.

Christchurch rider Justin McDonald (Honda) won the day at the third round of four in this current season’s Backflips-supported New Zealand Supercross Championships close Motueka on Sunday evening, making it the third rider in the same number of rounds to command dashing in the chief review.

Motueka’s Josh Coppins (Yamaha) won the opener in Tokoroa on December 11, while Mount Maunganui’s Cody Cooper (Suzuki) won cycle two in Taupo seven days prior.

Yet, it was again the turn of a South Islander to remain over the platform as McDonald seared to 2-1-1 brings about his three races at Motueka’s prevalent Rat Track circuit.

That outcome moved the 25-year-old McDonald again into second spot in the title standings, now only 10 focuses behind arrangement pioneer Coppins. Cooper, in the mean time, slipped from second to third by and large and it will go last possible minute, at the fourth and last round close Timaru one weekend from now to choose where the pined for open class title winds up.

Coppins completed 1-3-3 on Sunday, while Cooper was just fourth best, guaranteeing 4-5-4 brings about his three excursions. Third best in the open class at Motueka was Rotorua’s Michael Phillips (Honda), who completed 3-2-2.

As occurred at Taupo’s round, the Senior Lites (250cc) class at Motueka was going by Christchurch Honda rider Craig Smith, the 17-year-old again winning the day and stretching out his class prompt a strong 31 focuses over the new No.2 man, Peter Broxholme (Honda), of Tauranga.

Furthermore, it wasn’t Broxholme, yet Rangiora’s Isaiah McGoldrick (KTM) and going by Australian Jackson Richardson (Kawasaki), who gave Smith the greatest test.


Justin McDonald (Honda), general champ of the open class at cycle three of the supercross nationals close Motueka on Sunday.

Photograph by Andy McGechan, BikesportNZ.com

McGoldrick completed 4-3-4 to take sprinter up distinctions while it was really Richardson who overwhelmed the early period of the occasion, winning the initial two Lites races of the, prior day colliding with the sideline in the last race, driving the Australian to agree to third by and large for the day.

Then, Atiamuri’s Dion Picard (Suzuki) keeps on driving the Junior Lites (250cc) class, his 2-3-1 comes about at Motueka giving his second general for the day, behind round victor Micah McGoldrick (KTM).

Rangiora’s Micah McGoldrick surrounded Picard’s lead however he is as yet a strong 14 focuses behind and will require an extraordinary day in Timaru is he is to secure the crown. Micah McGoldrick won the national 85cc title last season.

Hamilton’s Josiah Natzke (Yamaha) dashed to another cap trap of wins in the lesser 85cc class, extending to 29 focuses his title lead over Pahiatua Kawasaki rider Scott Sowry.